Reset the device

A full reset is sometimes referred to as a hard reset. Perform a full reset when you want to clear all settings, programs and data from RAM.

Caution if you perform a full reset, your BlackBerry 7250, 7285, 7290, or 7520 returns to its default settings and looses all information that is not recorded in ROM.

This procedure stops all services and removes all data including passwords and encryption keys, from the BlackBerry® device. Before you clear your device, verify that a backup copy of your data is available.

To perform a hard reset:

  1. In the device options, click Security Options.
  2. Click General Settings.
  3. Click the trackwheel.
  4. Click Wipe Handheld.
  5. Click Continue.
  6. Type blackberry.