Reset the device

A full reset is sometimes referred to as a hard reset. Perform a full reset when you want to clear all settings, programs and data from RAM.

Caution if you perform a full reset, your BlackBerry 8700, 8703e, 8707, 8707g, or 8707h returns to its default settings and looses all information that is not recorded in ROM.

Before you delete your BlackBerry® device data or media card files, consider backing up these items so that you have a copy on your computer. CAUTION: If you have turned on encryption, the process for deleting all device data can take up to an hour to complete. You cannot stop the process after you start it. If you reset your device, the process restarts after the device restarts.

To perform a hard reset:

  1. In the device options, click Security Options.
  2. Click General Settings.
  3. Click the trackwheel.
  4. Click Wipe Handheld.
  5. To delete all third-party applications, select the Include third-party applications check box.
  6. Click Continue.
  7. Type blackberry.