HTC Touch Jade 3G Soft reset


Soft reset
Occasionally, you may need to reset your device. A soft (or normal) reset of your device clears all active program memory and shuts down all active programs. This can be useful when your device is running slower than normal, or a program is not performing properly. A soft reset is also necessary after the installation of some programs. If a soft reset is performed when programs are running, unsaved work will be lost.


To perform a HTC Jade soft reset

1. Remove the back cover.
2. Pull out the stylus, and use the stylus tip to press the RESET button located near the battery compartment. Your device then restarts and displays the Home screen..

HTC Touch Jade 3G hard reset soft reset

HTC Touch Jade 3G Hard reset


HTC 3G Hard reset

You can also perform a hard reset (also known as a full reset). A hard reset should only be performed if a normal reset does not solve a system problem. After a hard reset, the device is restored to its default settings—the way it was when you first purchased it and turned it on. Any programs you installed, data you enteredand settings you customized on your device will be lost. Only Windows Mobile® software and other pre-installed programs will remain.

Warning! Your device will be set back to factory default settings. Make sure that any additional installed programs and/or user data have been backed up before you perform a hard reset.

Important If Encrypt files when placed on a storage card is enabled, backup all files from the storage card before using Clear Storage, hard reset, or updating the ROM system software. Otherwise you will no longer be able to access the encrypted files on the storage card. Use ActiveSync or Windows Mobile Device Center to transfer files between your storage card and computer. After the procedure, copy your files back to the storage card.


To perform a HTC Jade hard reset

1. Power off your device.
2. Press and hold the VOLUME DOWN and ENTER buttons, and then press the POWER button.
The following message then appears on the screen:



3. Press the VOLUME UP button to perform the hard reset, or press any other button to cancel the reset.


Clear Storage
You can also use Clear Storage to reset your device back to factory default settings.
1. On the Home screen, slide to the Settings tab and then tap All Settings.
2. On the System tab, tap Clear Storage.
3. Enter “1234” and then tap Yes.